Welcome to

opodis 2005

9th International Conference on
Principles of Distributed Systems

December 12--14, 2005, Pisa, Italy


Call for Papers

Important Dates (NEW!!)

Program Committee


Accepted Papers





Visa Issues



Get this Call for Papers in a different format: Pdf Format Plain text

Call For Papers

This year, OPODIS particularly encourages contributions in the fields of real-time systems and wireless networks.

9th International Conference On
Principles Of Distributed Systems

Pisa, Italy, December 12-14, 2005

OPODIS is an open forum for the exchange of state-of-the-art knowledge on distributed computing and systems among researchers from around the world. Being the 9th conference in a series of annual conferences, it is intended to be a lively meeting, covering many of the aspects in this scientific area. This year, a particular focus will be given to real-time systems and wireless networks.

The program committee is soliciting original research contributions to the theory, specifications, design and implementation of distributed systems, including:

- communication and synchronization protocols
- distributed algorithms, multiprocessor algorithms
- distributed collaborative environments
- embedded systems
- fault-tolerance, reliability, availability
- grid and cluster computing
- location- and context-aware systems
- mobile computing and networks
- peer-to-peer systems, overlay networks
- performance analysis of distributed algorithms and systems
- real-time systems
- security issues in distributed computing and systems
- sensor networks
- specification verification and testing of distributed systems


Submitted papers must be written in English and should not exceed 12 pages using 11-point font and reasonable margins, including figures, tables and references. The first page must include the title of the paper, author(s) names and affiliation, postal address, fax number, email, address for correspondence, a list of keywords and an abstract. Submitted papers must have original content that has not been previously published in, or under review by, other refereed venues. Authors must submit their papers electronically, following the guidelines available on the OPODIS 2005 web page at http://www.di.unipi.it/OPODIS2005. Authors who are unable to submit electronically must contact the program committee co-chairs.


The selection of contributions will be based on peer-review by the Program Committee. It is required that each accepted paper be presented at the conference by one of its authors. An informal proceedings consisting of the accepted papers will be distributed at the conference. The formal proceedings is planned to be published as a volume in the Springer-Verlag Lecture Notes in Computer Science series. Authors of accepted papers are required to submit the final, camera-ready versions of their papers after the Conference in LNCS format (http://www.springer.de/comp/lncs/authors.html). Each participant will receive a copy of the final proceedings.

Important Dates
Submission Deadlines August 17, 2005 Title, authors, abstract, topics submission (Phase 1 of Registration)
August 21, 2005 Complete Submission
Acceptance Notification October 10, 2005
Camera-ready October 30, 2005

Program Committee
Tarek Abdelzaher University of Virginia
Luis Almeida Universidade de Aveiro, Portugal
James Anderson University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (Co-Chair)
Anish Arora Ohio State University
Ted Baker Florida State University
Joffroy Beauquier Université de Paris Sud, France
Riccardo Bettati Texas A&M University
Costas Busch Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Christian Cachin IBM Zurich Research, Switzerland
Danny Dolev Hebrew University, Israel
Shlomi Dolev Ben-Gurion University, Israel
Panagiota Fatourou University of Ioannina, Greece
Paola Flocchini Ottawa University, Canada
Gerhard Fohler Malardalen University, Sweden
Hacene Fouchal Université Antilles-Guyane
Shelby Funk University of Georgia
Mohamed Gouda The University of Texas at Austin
Maurice Herlihy Brown University
Teruo Higashino Osaka University, Japan
Danny Krizanc Wesleyan University
Xiang-Yang Li Illinois Institute of Technolo
Giuseppe Lipari Scuola Superiore S.Anna Pisa, Italy
Giuseppe Prencipe University of Pisa, Italy
Mike Reiter Carnegie Mellon University
Ulrich Schmid TU Vienna, Austria
Alex A. Shvartsman University of Connecticut
Srikanta Tirthapura Iowa State University
Roger Wattenhofer ETH Zurich, Switzerland (Co-Chair)
Masafumi Yamashita Kyushu University, Japan

Organization Committee
Thomas Moscibroda ETH Zurich, Switzerland (Publicity)
Giuseppe Prencipe Università di Pisa, Italy (Chair)
Vincenzo Gervasi Università di Pisa, Italy
Andreas Wetzel ETH Zurich, Switzerland (Submissions)

Steering Committee
Alain Bui Université de Reims Champagne-Ardenne, France
Hacene Fouchal Université de Reims Champagne-Ardenne, France
Marc Bui Université de Paris 8/EPHE, France
Nicola Santoro Carleton University, Canada
Philippas Tsigas University of Chalmers, Sweden (Chair)
Roberto Gomez CEM-ITESM, Mexico